When Things Don’t Go Well, We Can Trust God

Philippians 4-19

All companies experience setbacks once in a while.  Working in the same company for almost 19 years now, we’ve experienced those valleys, but we always bounce back somehow.  Recently however, things are not turning out quite well, which leaves me wondering if I should begin looking for a new job.  You see, it’s not only financial setbacks we’re experiencing but there is discord within the whole organization.

When I was a student, I was fond of mythology and I was reminded of the apple of discord.  On it was written: “To the fairest.”  Naturally, those who thought they were the fairest believe the apple is theirs. And they fought to get the apple.

It’s basically the scenario here but it’s not for the fairest. It’s more like finding faults in others no matter how trivial, and earning undeserved favor for that.  Scary isn’t it?  But not for those who take advantage of this. They thrive on it. They make a hearty breakfast of finding faults and making sure the higher ups know about it ASAP.

There are  people who seem to make it their life mission to be sowers of disunity and dissension, with not even a care if in the end, we all sink.

The weird part is, despite being told by a reliable source that if I have a better opportunity in sight, that I should take that, I was unfazed.  Sure it gave me a bit to worry about but you know that kind of worrying that you easily brush off and then you just go on with life.

“There is peace when you know Who to put your focus on… If God could give His Son’s life to die for us on the cross, for all of us who are undeserving, how much more to provide for what we need…”

I did think about how I would provide for my family when the scenario turns worse.  But having experienced God’s faithfulness in the past, of how He took care of all of us and provided us with all we need, I’m not afraid.  The God who rescued me from a financial sinkhole a decade ago will see me through the difficult times ahead.

There is peace when you know Who to put your focus on.  Because that Someone is unshakable, a firm ground on which I stand in faith.  If God could give His Son’s life to die for us on the cross, for all of us who are undeserving, how much more to provide for what we need, right?

So I lay it all in God’s hands and believe that whatever happens, He will be with us, faithful as ever. I choose to focus on Jesus instead of the impending problem at hand.  Trusting in God, I just continue to pray about the situation.  For the sake of everyone, I pray that we will still bounce back from this difficult time, and praying for God’s justice on those who seek to destroy rather than build.

Blog Signature 2

Leave a Reply

